Category Photos Comments Last Comment Last Photo Upload
Shutterbug Photo of the Day

We’re launching a new Photo of the Day feature on Shutterbug.com where we spotlight our favorite images from readers.

Post your very best images in this gallery to be considered for Shutterbug Photo of the Day.

NOTE: Please include your real name and some background on the image (how and where it was shot; the story behind the image; gear and settings used etc.) in the description field to qualify for Shutterbug Photo of the Day.

546 54 Tue Mar 3, 2015 1pm by Dee Gee Tue Mar 3, 2015 10pm by issyr photography
Picture This: Fine Art Photography

Fine Art photography can include landscapes, cityscapes, macros, wide-angles, long exposures, abstracts, portraits, nudes, semi-nudes, black-and-whites, color photos, surreal photos, hyper real photos, nature photos and on and on and on. What we’re looking for are simply beautiful or striking images that show your vision as a photographer. Give us personal images you think are good enough to be hung on the wall of a gallery or museum.

Deadline: March 1, 2015

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

336 12 Tue Mar 3, 2015 3pm by Ray Lilly Tue Mar 3, 2015 11pm by AbeHWis
Picture This: Wildlife and Nature

Take some time sorting through your wildlife and nature images to pick out something truly special for this gallery. Not only are we looking for the subjects to be in focus, we’d like to see wildlife and nature photos that offer a fresh and interesting perspective or tell some sort of a story. This should be a very competitive assignment, so give us wildlife and nature images that truly stand out.

Deadline: April 1, 2015

Selected images will appear in the July 2015 issue of Shutterbug.

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

192 12 Sat Feb 21, 2015 9pm by gaulois55 Tue Mar 3, 2015 11pm by issyr photography
Picture This: The Decisive Moment

Post images that exemplify what French photographer Henri Cartier-Bresson called "the decisive moment," i.e. real-life subject matter that's captured neither too early, nor too late, but at the peak of emotion and expression.

Deadline: December 15, 2014

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

295 14 Mon Dec 15, 2014 4pm by cljohnson4 Wed Jan 21, 2015 11am by Susan Taylor Photography
Picture This: Winter Wonder

Post images that think outside the box about winter photography. While photos of snowmen and sledding are nice, we’d like to see images from you that capture the true splendor of winter’s power and beauty, not just a seasonal cliché. Give us winter with a sense of wonder.

Deadline: January 1, 2015

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

356 18 Wed Feb 18, 2015 7am by cnorthme Sat Feb 21, 2015 12pm by hunkydorrie
Picture This: Low-Light Noir

Post dark and moody images that recall classic "film noir" movies. We're looking for gritty, high contrast images, preferably in black and white, captured in low light conditions. Color photos are fine too but make them shadowy and mysterious: think Edward Hopper, not Walt Disney. Film grain effects or even digital noise are encouraged, just as long as it suits the subject.

Deadline: February 1, 2015

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

305 16 Mon Feb 16, 2015 5pm by Lorenzo Cassina Wed Feb 25, 2015 6am by SUBHAJIT GHOSH
Picture This: Rich and Color-Full

Send us images with "those nice bright colors..."
Deadline June 15

659 31 Sat Oct 25, 2014 9pm by Susan Taylor Photography Sun Mar 1, 2015 6pm by bob ros
Picture This: Echoing Forms

Reinforcing the main subject--content or shadow. Deadline July 15.

293 32 Tue Nov 11, 2014 5pm by Lorenzo Cassina Sat Jan 31, 2015 11am by lewisrothman
Picture This: Panorama
In-camera or stitched: Deadline August 15

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

351 16 Tue Sep 16, 2014 6am by mshaley1224 Fri Feb 27, 2015 7pm by bob ros
Picture This: Red!
Send us images screaming Red, Red, Red! Deadline September 15

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

616 45 Fri Jan 16, 2015 8pm by Lorenzo Cassina Thu Feb 26, 2015 2pm by courtneybailey
Picture This: Backlight
Send us images where backlight or strong directional light dances with the subject. Deadline October 2014.

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

387 16 Wed Dec 31, 2014 10am by Lorenzo Cassina Wed Feb 18, 2015 10am by Shaboo
Picture This: Bokeh, Shallow Depth of Field
Post striking images that have a “bokeh" (blurred background) effect with a very shallow depth of field. Deadline November 15 2014.

NOTE: Please include your real name in the description field to qualify for this assignment.

446 30 Tue Mar 3, 2015 9pm by SherryChristensen Thu Feb 12, 2015 8pm by sidh_m82
General

Photos not sorted into any of the categories below.

23806 1678 Sat Jan 10, 2015 6am by Upendra Yagnik Mon Mar 2, 2015 10am by vkendall1947
Flash & Strobe

Fill flash, studio & on location

176 110 Sat Oct 4, 2014 4pm by ProfEngineer Sun Oct 26, 2014 6pm by ShutterDave
Wide & Super Wide

Maximizing depth of field; the super wide view

225 95 Thu Jul 24, 2014 7pm by photog1968 Fri Nov 28, 2014 10pm by mukeshbhakta
Digital Doings

Using plug-ins, special effects & composites

805 452 Thu Nov 13, 2014 5pm by libbysr Tue Jan 6, 2015 11am by lollet2014
Depth of Field

Shallow & deep

534 198 Tue Oct 8, 2013 6am by daguerrson Sat Feb 14, 2015 9am by Bkelly
Travel & Location

On the road, with camera

1473 195 Wed Aug 6, 2014 7am by Mbarone Mon Mar 2, 2015 3pm by jefferykphoto
Monochrome

Black and white, toned or neutral

1610 368 Wed Jul 2, 2014 12am by Barrett Thu Feb 26, 2015 5pm by lookugly2
US National Parks

Images from our nation's wonderlands

349 69 Mon Oct 21, 2013 4pm by Lorenzo Cassina Fri Feb 27, 2015 8pm by vkendall1947
Outdoor & Nature

Scenics, Locations

4329 884 Thu Aug 21, 2014 1am by leena Sat Feb 28, 2015 5pm by bcaricofe
Macro Photography

Closeups

1634 506 Wed Nov 13, 2013 9pm by aprille Fri Feb 27, 2015 8pm by vkendall1947
Shutter Speed Effects

Fast & slow, take your pick

431 161 Mon Dec 15, 2014 4am by lucky Fri Jan 30, 2015 8am by photonerd626
Portraits

Candid and formal, natural and artificial light

1695 208 Fri Dec 5, 2014 8pm by Constantino Salazar Thu Feb 19, 2015 9pm by spikeweee
HIGH ISO Image Gallery

Images made at ISO 1600 and above

97 12 Fri Nov 1, 2013 5pm by Lorenzo Cassina Fri Feb 13, 2015 9pm by SteveRengers
Nikon D3000 Images and User Group

Post photos, compare notes

67 15 Mon Oct 20, 2014 10am by Dracula Mon Feb 2, 2015 7pm by michael mercado
Share | |
  • X
    Enter your Shutterbug username.
    Enter the password that accompanies your username.
    Loading