Anyone here ever check out the "circleofphotographers.com" sponsored link? I think the management of this magazine/website should and also do a web search on this shady organization=they will find many complaints concerning taking people's money and never delivering the "leather bound book" they promise....
They're baaaack! The evidence is anecdotal, but: I did a Google search on "Circle of Photographers" and found several hits referring to this operation as a scam, run by the same folks who promote the "Circle of Poets". If you enter a photo, ANY photo in their contest, you'll get a letter or email that says you're a finalist for the $5K prize, and that you're going to be published in their book. All you have to do is give them $XX to cover the cost. Riiight.
This is exactly the same scam that was working about seven years ago, under the name of "International Library of Photography", along with it's companion operation, "International Library of Poetry".
Beware, and don't go there.....
The subject/outfit has been discussed on at least one other photo forum. This scam was old when Fox-Talbot was a mere lad.
Please reference the post if any on the forum and I will delete and ban user immediately. The site is not for that purpose and does not condone such activity.
Thanks, George. The link is
http://www.circleofphotographers.com
and it's gone from the Sponsored Links list. The one remaining contest link there, advertising a $10K prize, is showing a "page cannot be displayed" error. No way to tell if it's legit or not. The URL is www.picture.com.
Thanks, I see this site has some integrity unlike its sister-site that continues running the ad for circleofphotographers-it is important to keep the viewers updated as the fewer ripped off the better
Still see circleofphotographers and picture.com as sponsored links--has the moderator checked out these sites or their history? Can't believe this site/mag would condone such activity!!!!! 
Bill,
Your vigilence is appreciated. But also you need to understand that the magazine's ad sales me have sold the advertiser a contract, and even though editorially Shutterbug may not want to support a questionable advertiser the obligation of a sales contract cannot be dismissed out of hand.
I understand, David, but this time it was caught by "Mr. Anonymous" in the post above mine. I was going to check it out, but it was gone by tht time....
Now that I've had more coffee, let me add:
I'm not sure what the site in question was about. After the site went away, the link that briefly remained was not one I expected to see for our favorite bogus contest page.
I understand the problems inherent in contract commitments. However, I think forum users are going to continue to cry foul when they see something, either posted here or advertised on the home page, that they think is bogus. The challenge lies in determining who's flimming our flam this time, the advertiser or the forum poster?
Bill,
Unfortunately it has to be everyone's responsibility. A site like this does not have the resources to investigate and verify the legitimacy of every vendor. So, it is really of necessity a joint venture. But to a large extent that is true of everything involved with the internet. As long as it is an open environment anyone can participate and everyone to a degree has to assume primary responsibility for not falling into someone's trap. But once a site or link is identified and confirmed to be illegitimate with everyones help, I am sure it will be removed as quickly as possible. That's why there are links for user to communicate any problem to the webmaster.
Was glad to read your expose'... I wondered how I won so quickly..given I got a akno email the next day after making the entry...hmmmmm that raised my suspicions. How does Netscape put such things on their site without checking them out thorougly first? Thanks for your persistance, here.
![]()
| Cameras Other | Techniques Site Features | Blogs Archived Blogs Refreshers | More Articles | Columns eCommerce | News Resources |


.jpg)

.jpg)

